Jacob and Sarah Bushong established their home here in 1818. The current home was built in 1825. Three generations of their family found shelter in the basement as the battle raged around them.
After the battle, the house would serve as a field hospital for a week, leaving permanent blood stains in the Parlor. The orchard just behind the house is where the fiercest fighting occurred.
Today, visitors can explore nine structures interpreting mid-ninteenth century Shenandoah Valley farm life.